Blog


Hiking the Minimum Wage

Read 896 times Last modified on Monday, 13 October 2014 21:38

Small business owners and not-so-small business owners - did you make sure to update your wages?

Courtesy of the California legislature, a 12.5% increase in the minimum wage employers are required to pay employees.  Effective July 1, 2014, Assembly Bill 10 raised the minimum wage from $8.00/hr to $9.00/hr. In another year and a half, effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage will increase again, this time to $10.00/hr.

And, to all my employers out there, make sure your payroll systems are updated to reflect the changes effective July 1, 2014, because Assembly Bill 442 provides for "liquidated damages" in addition to the already existing penalties for violations of California minimum wage law.

One little mistake can cost you a lot of money... If you have any questions regarding the changes to minimum wage law or any other issue affecting the employer/employee relationship, please fee free to give me a call or shoot me an email.

Login to post comments

Calendar

« September 2017 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30